Skip to content

Balti #3 – Kababish, 29 Woodbridge Road

May 3, 2010

I headed to that Pat Kav for a drink on Tuesday night only to find my buddies were still eating across the road, in fact hadn’t even been served yet. So I headed across the road to the glam-looking Kababish, and sat down with them just as they were being served. Fortunately the waiter said they’d do me something quick. I actually didn’t think that this place was even in the Balti triangle (so I wasn’t considering reviewing it), but I ordered a vegetable Balti and plain naan anyway, it’s obviously becoming habit now. Hence I also have no photos of it, but anyway, here’s what I remember about it…

The Balti

The meal arrived in a spotless silver ‘balti’ dish, meaning it probably wasn’t an authentic balti experience. It was however, a pleasing balance of flavours, with quite a good hit of fresh chillies. There wasn’t a huge amount of sauce, but it was packed full of vegetables, majoring on okra (lady fingers, bhindi), which fortunately, I adore. The flavours were well balanced, with no one flavour shouting above another, but for my tastes, there wasn’t enough fresh coriander in there. Overall, a pretty good meal, I just wish I knew I was going to be reviewing it when I ate it, I would have paid more attention!

The Naan

As I’m getting used to now, the first rip of the naan bread revealed the disappointing whiff of chemical rasing agents – this bread was another inauthentic self-raising flour jobby. Please can I change the rules and have chapatti instead?!? It was a light fluffy bread though, searingly hot from the tandoor, and not too big for one as they sometimes can be.

Next time, I promise I’ll pay more attention! T.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. tania_nexust permalink
    May 3, 2010 11:36 am

    Please don’t change “the rules” ! I didn’t know about ‘authentic’ and ‘inauthentic’ naans before reading your reviews, so I’m dying to see now if you find somewhere that produces a naan that’s up to your standard – then I can go there, order one, and educate myself while nomming it up – so you’re doing good work there, stick with it and hopefully you’ll find the naan you’re looking for …

  2. May 3, 2010 12:15 pm

    Thanks, I will. I think a blog post properly explaining my position on naan’s is required at some point, together with some experiments in the kitchen!

  3. nickloman permalink
    May 4, 2010 10:22 am

    I had a truly grim meal here a few months back.

Leave a Reply

